XEPHER

2/1/24 I'm no game journalist... YET! Go check out my GAMING section for 100% fresh reviews. 31/12/23 Last update of the year. Now I have a BLOG! How hip.

ABOUT

How Wednesday Campenella changed my view of music

Posted on Sunday, 31st December

If you were to ask who my current favourite artists were, Wednesday Campenella without a doubt, would make the list. WedCamp (The diminutive name) is a japanese “Neopoetry” group that has been fronted by two artists, KOM_I (until Sep 2021) and Utaha (Current). They both have very distinct styles, yet are able to encapsulate the WedCamp style. The songs are a mixture of current music styles and stories of mythology.

Many of the different songs can take stories from different cultures, not just from Japan. They take the styles to create “Neopoetry”. A new term that I have taken quite a liking to. Poetry was created to orally transfer hymns and stories, and over time it has become a quiet medium. Whilst it used to be solely spoken word, it feels as if poetry has been hushed, to only be shared through text on paper, or on a screen.

I will now discuss my feelings about one song that I love the most. “Melos” by Wednesday Campanella (Singer, KOM_I) is one of the most beautiful songs I have heard, and with the visuals given in the MV (Music Video) it can really bring out tears. It is a retelling of a Greek story rewritten by Japanese author, Osamu Dazai, which was a rewriting of “The Pledge” by German author, Friedrich Schiller (Which is based on the traditional story Damon and Pythias!). This is just a new vocal retelling, in a new, rhythmic style! It’s such a pretty song, and changes music just from a melody to a story, and even a dive into cultural history.

Underneath I will leave a list of my favourite songs by Wednesday Campanella. Please give them a listen.

latest blog post

Through speech, music, literature and movies... what we've seen, heard, felt ...anger, joy and sorrow...

these are the things I will pass on. That's what I live for." Solid Snake

Hosted on Neocities, now till forever.